NEW ORLEANS MARIJUANA DEFENSE ATTORNEY
Attorney Elizabeth B Carpenter has been a supporter of reforming Marijuana Laws for many years. Currently, Louisiana has some of the harshest marijuana laws in the country, and it has the fifth-highest marijuana arrest rate in the United States. Additionally, Louisiana has never had a law that effectively protects medical marijuana patients from arrest. In the last several sessions, Louisiana legislators have been too busy trying to increase marijuana penalties and refusing to introduce compassionate medical marijuana legislation.
If you have been arrested for a Marijuana Offense in Louisiana, contact the Law Office of Elizabeth B. Carpenter, Esq. Our fees are always discounted for Marijuana Offenses.
Serving Clients in Orleans Parish, St. Tammany Parish, St. John Parish, St. James Parish, St. Bernard Parish, St. Charles Parish, Assumption Parish, Tangipahoa Parish, Terrebonne Parish, Plaquemines Parish and Jefferson Parish.
Louisianans must form a united front and remain determined to stand up to the injustice of marijuana prohibition and accomplish decriminalization, no matter how long it takes to succeed.
LOUISIANA MARIJUANA LAWS
Marijuana Possession & Personal Use Penalties & Punishments in the State of Louisiana
|Possession||Severity of Crime||Incarceration||Fine|
|Any amount (first offense)||misdemeanor||6 months||$500|
|Any amount (second offense)||felony||0-5 years||$2,000|
|Any amount (third or subsequent offense)||felony||0-20 years||$5,000|
|Possession within 1,000 feet of school, church or public housing||felony||MMS* of 1/2 maximum penalty||variable|
Miscellaneous (paraphernalia, license suspensions, drug tax stamps, etc…)
|Paraphernalia possession or sale (first offense)||misdemeanor||6 months||$500|
|Paraphernalia possession or sale (second offense)||misdemeanor||1 year||$1,000|
MMS* — Mandatory Minimum Sentencing
- First Offense Possession of any amount of marijuana is punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $500 for a first offense.
- A Second Offense the penalties increase to up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $2,000.
- A Third or Subsequent Offense increases the penalty to up to 20 years in prison.
Cultivation, Distribution or Possession with Intent to Distribute Marijuana:
- Less than 60 pounds of marijuana: is punishable by 5 – 30 years in prison and a fine of up to $50,000.
- More than 60 pounds of marijuana: is punishable by 10-60 years in prison and a fine of up to $50,000 – $100,000.
- More than 2,000 pounds the punishment ranges from 10 – 40 years in prison and a fine of $100,000 – $400,000.
- More than 10,000 pounds the penalty increases to 25 – 40 years in prison and a fine of $400,000 – $1,000,000.
*Any sale to a minor at least three years younger than the seller doubles the possible penalties.
*For felony possession or sale within 1,000 feet of a school, religious building or public housing the penalty includes a mandatory minimum sentence of at least one half of the maximum penalty for the offense.
Possession or Sale of Paraphernalia:
- First Offense is punished by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $500.
- Second offense the penalty increases to up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
- Third offense, the penalty is up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
MANDATORY MINIMUM SENTENCE
When someone is convicted of an offense punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence, the judge must sentence the defendant to the mandatory minimum sentence or to a higher sentence. The judge has no power to sentence the defendant to less time than the mandatory minimum.