Louisiana Sex Offender Registry Information

 

 

State Sex Offender and Child Predator Registry

 

The following list contains the specific section of the Louisiana Criminal Code and the literal offense for which registration as a Sex Offender is required. A person convicted of any of the following offenses when the victim is an adult is a sex offender. A person convicted of any of the following offenses when the victim is under the age of 18 and the defendant is not the parent of the victim is a sex offender and also a child predator.

 

Sex Offenses Against Minors

Offenses against minors are defined as criminal offenses against a victim who is a minor when the victim is under the age of 18 and the person is not the parent of the victim. A person convicted of one of the following offenses when the victim is a minor and not the child of the offender is a Child Predator.

 

 

Tier I Sex Offender: 

A person convicted of committing or attempting to commit any of the following enumerated sex offenses or a comparable offense under the laws of another state.  These offenses carry a registration period of 15 years to be conducted annually.

 

 

Statute Description
14:43(A)(3) Simple Rape under subsection (3)
14:43.1 Sexual Battery of Victim 18 and over
14:43.5 Intentional Exposure to Aids
14:45.1 Interference with child custody – other than by parent
14:46 False Imprisonment of child under 18 – other than by parent
14:46.1 False Imprisonment of child under 18 with weapon
14:78 Incest
14:80 Felony Carnal Knowledge
(except if waived by court pursuant to 15:542(F)(2)
14:81 Indecent Behavior with Juveniles
14:81.4 Prohibited Sexual Conduct between educator and student
14:89 Crime Against Nature  As of 6/2011 registration is not longer required.
14:92(A)(7) Contributing to the Delinquency of Juveniles
14:106(5) Obscenity through solicitation of a minor
14:283 Video Voyeurism
14:283.1 Voyeurism
23:251 Minors under 16: prohibited employments or occupations

 

 

Tier II Child Predator: 

A person convicted of committing or attempting to commit any of the following enumerated offenses or a comparable offense under the laws of another state when the victim is a minor and the defendant is not the parent of the victim.  These offenses carry a 25 year registration period to be conducted bi-annually.

 

Statute Description
14:43.1 Sexual Battery of Minor under 18 years of age
14:43.3 Oral Sexual Battery
14:46.2(B)(2) Human Trafficking
14:78.1 Aggravated Incest under circumstances not in Tier III
14:81.1 Possession, Production and/or Distribution of Child Porn
14:81.2 Molestation of a Juvenile
14:81.3 Computer Aided Solicitation
14:82.1 Prostitution: Persons Under Seventeen
14:84 (1),(3),(5), and (6) Pandering when victim is under 18 years of age
14:86 Enticing of minor into Prostitution

 

 

Tier III Aggravated Offense: 

 

A person convicted of committing or attempting to commit any of the following enumerated sex offenses or a comparable offense under the laws of another state.  These offenses carry a registration period of Lifetime to be conducted quarterly.

 

 

Statute Description
14:42 Aggravated Rape
14:42.1 Forcible Rape
14:43 Simple Rape under subsection A(1) and (2)
14:43.1(c)(2) Sexual Battery of a child under the age of 13
14:43.2 Second Degree Sexual Battery
14:44 Aggravated Kidnapping of a minor
14:44.1 Second Degree Kidnapping of a minor under 18
14:44.2 Aggravated Kidnapping of a child
14:45 Simple Kidnapping of a minor under 18
14:78.1 Aggravated Incest involving sexual intercourse, 2nd degree sexual battery, or oral sexual battery
14:81.2(E)(1) Molestation of a juvenile under the age of 13
14:89.1 Aggravated Crime Against Nature
14:93.5 Sexual Battery of the Infirmed

 

 

If you need help with sex offender registry issues, Contact Attorney Elizabeth Bagert Carpenter. She is dedicated to the reform of sex offender registry laws.

 

 

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Recent Comments