What is Aggravated Assault in Louisiana?
Aggravated Assault — La R.S. 14:37
Aggravated assault is an assault committed with a dangerous weapon. Of course, this includes assault with a weapon, such as a knife. However, Louisiana Law states that any object that could be used to inflict serious harm on another person is considered a dangerous weapon. This best example of this is a wine bottle.
What is the penalty for aggravated assault?
Whoever commits an aggravated assault shall be fined not more than $1000 or imprisoned for not more than 6 months, or both.
If the offense is committed upon a store’s or merchant’s employee while the offender is engaged in the perpetration or attempted perpetration of theft of goods, the offender shall be imprisoned for not less than 120 days to 6 months without benefit of suspension of sentence and may be fined not more than one $2000.
Aggravated Assault is a misdemeanor, but the consequences are serious because a conviction may not be expunged since it is a Crime of Violence under La Revised Statutes.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for assault in the New Orleans area, Contact our firm for a consultation. We are ready to defense you!
Similar Blog Posts: