Information About DMV Hearings — DWI Defense Louisiana

Posted by & filed under DWI DUI, Uncategorized.

New Orleans DWI DUI Attorney 

 

 

Elizabeth B. Carpenter, Esq. —  DWI DUI Attorney New Orleans 

 

Information About DMV Hearings

By Elizabeth B Carpenter

 

If you have been arrested for a DWI in New Orleans area, a lawyer can help you with both the criminal side of your case and your DMV hearing, which addresses the suspension of your driving privileges in Louisiana. Your DMV hearing is just as important as your criminal case, and thus it is essential that you work with an attorney on this as well.

 

A New Orleans DWI Defense Attorney can help you if you have been arrested for DWI and need representation at your DMV hearing. An attorney can schedule your hearing, fully prepare you for it and can represent you at the hearing in order to help you get the best outcome possible. The DMV Administrative Hearing is a hearing where your attorney will have the opportunity to show that a suspension or revocation of your driving privilege is not justified. At this hearing, your attorney will present testimony and relevant evidence on your behalf. If the review shows there is no basis for the suspension or revocation, the action will be set aside and your driver’s license will be returned.

 

You Only Have 15 Days From The Date Of Your Arrest!

 

Upon getting arrested for DUI in Louisiana, the police officer is required by law to immediately forward a copy of the completed notice of suspension or revocation form and any driver’s license taken into their possession, with a sworn report, to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). This means that the officer will confiscate your license and will give you a temporary license that is valid for only 30 days from the time of your DWI arrest.

 

Immediate action is necessary, by you or your attorney, in order to prevent the suspension of your driver’s license. You must contact the DMV within 15 days of your arrest and schedule an Administrative Hearing – otherwise your license will be suspended upon the expiration of the 30-day temporary license you were given upon your arrest.

 

A DMV hearing is a part of any DWI arrest.  Many DMV hearings will hinge upon whether the officer had probable cause to stop you in the first place and the experience of the officer who administered the breath test or blood test which was used to determine your blood alcohol level.   Contact 504-599-5955  —  Available to help you 24/7.

 

 

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply