Copyright © 2011-2015 Elizabeth B. Carpenter, Esq.
Disclaimer: The information contained on this website is intended to be general in nature and cannot constitute individual legal advice unique to your situation.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for a DWI or DUI, New Orleans DWI / DUI Attorney Elizabeth B. Carpenter can help you. Ms. Carpenter has an excellent reputation as a DWI / DUI attorney in New Orleans. One of the main areas of Ms. Carpenter’s law practice is representing those accused, sometimes falsely, of driving while intoxicated in the New Orleans area - including cases of underage DWI / DUI in New Orleans.
DWI / DUI arrests are based solely on officers’ subjective opinions and machines used to measure blood alcohol content can be unreliable or provide misstated results when not administered properly. Therefore, DWI / DUI defense is very complicated and involves an intricate understanding of the scientific as well as the legal issues. Ms. Carpenter regularly further educates herself about the latest laws and strategies pertaining to DWI / DUI defense. She has completed courses on NHTSA DWI / DUI Detection and Field Sobriety Testing and the breath testing machine known as the Intoxilyzer 5000. These are the same courses law enforcement must take. This level of dedication to her practice helps her challenge the common errors that police officers make when arresting citizens for DWI / DUI in the New Orleans area. Sometimes these errors form enough evidence to have the entire case dismissed.
Driving while intoxicated is a crime and is punishable by jail time, fines, community service and more. Additionally, the Louisiana Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will suspend your license in conjunction with an intoxicated driving conviction. You will need a New Orleans DWI / DUI attorney who can assert your rights and defend your charges effectively and efficiently, so you can keep your driving privileges. Your DMV hearing is a key part of your driving under the influence case.
Conviction will have many negative effects, and trying to represent yourself or working with an attorney who is not specifically trained in Louisiana DWI / DUI defense is how you will receive maximum penalties. A first DWI / DUI conviction in Louisiana may result in: license suspension, probation for up to 6 months, alcohol education, community service, fines and court fees of up to $1000, and even a parish jail sentence from 48 hours to 6 months. Additional convictions for driving while intoxicated, such as a second DWI, will result in enhanced penalties. A fourth conviction can be charged as a felony DWI / DUI – with a state prison sentence.