Incest Laws — Louisiana

Posted by & filed under Crimes Defined, Criminal Statutes, Sex Crimes.

 

Louisiana Incest Laws

In 2014, the Louisiana legislature repealed the statutes regarding incest and renamed the offense Crimes Against Nature.

Attorney Elizabeth B. Carpenter has defended many Crimes Against Nature cases in southern Louisiana.  We understand that many people accused of these crimes are not in fact guilty.  We are here to defend our clients, not judge them.  If you or a loved one has been accused of a Sex Offense, contact Elizabeth B. Carpenter, Esq. for a consultation from an experienced lawyer.

 

Penalties

Whoever commits incest, where the crime is between an ascendant and descendant, or between brother and sister, shall be imprisoned at hard labor for not more than 15 years.

Whoever commits incest, where the crime is between uncle and niece, or aunt and nephew, shall be fined not more than $1000, or imprisoned, with or without hard labor, for not more than 5 years, or both.

Whoever is convicted of Incest will have to Register as a Sex Offender for 15 years — To be conducted annually.

 

Incest — La. R.S. 14:78 Crime against Nature since 2014 La. R.S. 14:89

Incest is the marriage to, or sexual intercourse with, any ascendant or descendant, brother or sister, uncle or niece, aunt or nephew, with knowledge of their relationship.

The relationship must be by consanguinity, but it is immaterial whether the parties to the act are related to one another by the whole or half blood.

This shall not apply where one, not a resident of this state at the time of the celebration of his marriage, shall have contracted a marriage lawful at the place of celebration and shall thereafter have removed to this state.

* Whoever commits incest, where the crime is between an ascendant and descendant, or between brother and sister, shall be imprisoned at hard labor for not more than 15 years.

* Whoever commits incest, where the crime is between uncle and niece, or aunt and nephew, shall be fined not more than $1,000, or imprisoned, with or without hard labor, for not more than 5 years, or both.

 

See Aggravated Incest for a better understanding of the law!

 

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply