What is Louisiana Law for Indecent Behavior with Juveniles?
Whoever commits the crime of Indecent Behavior with Juveniles shall be fined not more than $5,000, or imprisoned with or without hard labor for not more than 7 years, or both.
Whoever commits the crime of Indecent Behavior with Juvenile on a victim under the age of 13 when the offender is 17 years old or older, shall be punished by imprisonment at hard labor for 2 to 25 years. At least 2 years of the sentence imposed shall be served without benefit of parole, probation, or suspension of sentence.
Whoever is convicted of Indecent Bahavior with Juveniles will have to Register as a Sex Offender for 15 years — To be conducted annually.
INDECENT BEHAVIOR WITH JUVENILES – LA R.S. 14:81
Indecent behavior with juveniles is the commission of any of the following acts with the intention of arousing or gratifying the sexual desires of either person:
(1) Any lewd or lascivious act upon the person or in the presence of any child under the age of seventeen, where there is an age difference of greater than 2 years between the two persons. Lack of knowledge of the child’s age shall not be a defense;
(2) The transmission, delivery or utterance of any textual, visual, written, or oral communication depicting lewd or lascivious conduct, text, words, or images to any person reasonably believed to be under the age of 17 and reasonably believed to be at least 2 years younger than the offender.
Attorney Elizabeth B. Carpenter has defended many Sex Offense cases in southern Louisiana. We understand that many people accused of Sex Crimes are not guilty. We are here to defend our clients, not judge them. If you or a loved one has been accused of a Sex Offense, contact Elizabeth B. Carpenter, Esq. for a consultation from an experienced lawyer. Protecting your freedom is important to us.