Louisiana Home Invasion Law
The law for Home Invasion is found at La. R.S. 14:62.8. Home Invasion is defined as the unauthorized entering of any inhabited dwelling, or other structure belonging to another and used in whole or in part as a home or place of abode by a person, where a person is present, with the intent to use force or violence upon the person of another or to vandalize, deface, or damage the property of another.
Except as provided below, whoever commits the crime of home invasion shall be fined not more than $5,000 dollars and shall be imprisoned at hard labor for not less than 1 year nor more than 30 years.
Whoever commits the crime of home invasion while armed with a dangerous weapon shall be fined not more than $7,000 dollars and shall be imprisoned at hard labor for 1 to 30 years.
Whoever commits the crime of home invasion when, at the time of the unauthorized entering, there is present in the dwelling or structure any person who is under the age of twelve years, is sixty-five years of age or older, or who has a developmental disability as defined in La. Civil Code shall be fined not more than $10,000 dollars and shall be imprisoned at hard labor for 10 t0 25. At least 10 years of the sentence imposed shall be served without benefit of parole, probation, or suspension of sentence.
Home Invasion is a Crime of Violence under the Louisiana Code.
Update: During the 2014 legislative session, the mandatory minimum for home invasion while armed with a dangerous weapon was increased from 0 years to 5 years.
If you are facing any kind of Burglary charge in southern Louisiana, contact Elizabeth B. Carpenter, Esq. We have the experience that you need to ensure that your rights are protected!