Misdemeanor Sexual Battery
During the 2015 legislative session, Louisiana lawmakers created the crime of misdemeanor sexual battery. This offense is defined as the following:
The intentional touching of the breasts or buttocks of the victim by the offender, or the offender by the victim, using any instrumentality or any part of the body of the offender, directly or through clothing, when the offender acts without the consent of the victim.
Anyone who is convicted of this offense is not eligible to have the conviction set aside or have the prosecution dismissed. In other words. the person may not plea under Article 894 of the Louisiana Code of Criminal Procedure or have the conviction expunged.
Additionally, anyone convicted of this will not be subject to the laws applicable to sex offenders, including but not limited to sex offender registration requirements.
Penalty / Sentencing
A fine of up to $1,000.00 imprisonment of up to 6 months, or both.
New Orleans Sexual Battery Attorney
If you or a loved one has been accused of the crime sexual battery, contact a Louisiana sex crimes attorney. We are prepared to fight for you.