Unlawful Presence of a Sexually Violent Predator — Louisiana

 

Unlawful Presence of a Sexually Violent Predator Law

Unlawful presence of a sexually violent predator is any of the following:

The physical presence of a sexually violent predator on the school property of any public or private, elementary or secondary school, or in any motor vehicle or other means of conveyance owned, leased, or contracted by such school to transport students to or from school or a school-related activity when persons under the age of eighteen years are present on the school property or in a school vehicle.

The physical residing of a sexually violent predator within one thousand feet of any of the following:

Public or private elementary or secondary school.

Early learning center as defined by R.S. 17:407.33.

Residence in which child care services are provided by a family child care provider or in-home provider who is registered pursuant to R.S. 17:407.61 et seq.

Residential home as defined by R.S. 46:1403.

Playground.

Public or private youth center.

Public swimming pool.

Free standing video arcade facility.

Noteworthy

It is not be a violation if the offender has permission to be present from the superintendent of the school board in the case of a public school or the principal or headmaster in the case of a private school.

If permission is granted to an offender to be present on public school property by the superintendent for that public school then the superintendent shall notify the principal at least twenty-four hours in advance of the visit by the offender. This notification shall include the nature of the visit and the date and time in which the sex offender will be present in the school. The offender shall notify the office of the principal upon arrival on the school property and upon departing from the school. If the offender is to be present in the vicinity of children, the offender shall remain under the direct supervision of a school official.

Definitions

“School property” means any property used for school purposes, including but not limited to school buildings, playgrounds, and parking lots.

“Sexually violent predator” means a person defined as such in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 3-D of Title 15 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950.

Penalty

Whoever violates the provisions of this Section shall be fined not more than $1,000, imprisoned for not more than 6 months, or both.

Pleading guilty to this offense could extend your time on the Sex Offender Registry.

Legal Assistance

If you have been charged with this crime, contact a Louisiana sex crimes attorney today for a consultation. 504-599-5955

 

Please follow and like us:
This website uses cookies and third party services. Ok